Latest News

Fiordland A Success For GODZone

Saturday 17th March 2018

News Categories

Share Page

Chapter 7 of GODZone has been hailed an international success with more than 360 competitors from around the world taking part and significant interest from national and international media showcasing the event.

The GODZone website achieved more than 2.1 million hits during event week, and the event was a spectacle of Te Anau and Fiordland’s world heritage national park.

Amongst the field chasing the winning title were leading adventure racing stars Nathan Fa avae, Stu Lynch, Chris Forne and Bob McLachlan vying for the top position.

After placing second last year, having won five GODZone chapters previously, Chris Forne and his team ‘Yealands Family Wines’ proved to be the ultimate victors after a fiercely fought battle with Stu Lynch’s ‘Swordfox’ team.

Chris and Emily Forne, Dan Busch and Aaron Prince claimed the GODZone Pure trophy, Merrell kit and a cheque for $10 000 finishing in five days 13 hours and 34 minutes. Forne was delighted with the win and the team’s performance over the 550km course.

” It was awesome – we had close racing with Swordfox especially in the first half, and that was a real battle. The scenery out there was stunning, and there were some really cool experiences racing together as a team – it’s a huge thanks to them all,” said Forne.

Nelson’s team Swordfox placed second taking home $6000 and Merrell kit. Brent Edwards, Georgia Whitla, Ash Whitehead and Stuart Lynch were gracious in their defeat and said the course was unrelenting.

“ We knew Yealands was in front during that last stage but it was too hard to go faster in those conditions – it was pretty brutal with 17 hours of bush bashing,” said team captain Brent Edwards.

Third place and $3000 went to Tom Lucas, George Lucas, Michael Kelly and Corinne O’Donnell of team Tiki Tour from Queenstown who were last year’s winners.

GODZone attracted a significant number of international adventure racers to Chapter 7 with 17 teams competing for the newly introduced International trophy and a prize pool of $10 000.

The International trophy and $6000 went to USA team Bend Racing / Yogaslackers. Stephen Thompson, Mari Chandler, Erik Sanders and Daniel Staudigel. They completed the course in seven days, 10 hours and 22minutes having a sprint finish with Kiwi team Bivouac Inov 8 over the finish line. Daniel Staudigel said it was an exhausting but fun way to complete the race.

” Those guys in Bivouac did an incredible job gaining in the paddle nearly taking us out – we were pulling each other over the line. As a team, we had some serious foot problems, and Mari had a busted shoulder going into the race that we had to reset out there so all in all we are pretty happy with our results.”

Aussie team CBRAR Rogue’s Dave Meyer, Peter Preston, Lou Carrington and Liam St Pierre were the second international team winning $3000. Third place and $1000 went to Mont Adventure Racing, also from Australia consisting of Tom Brazier, Alexandra Orme, Lee Rice and Paul Cuthbert.

The Colts trophy and $6000 sponsored by The Delta is for the best young team racing at the event. This year it was awarded to Levi Hibbert, Glen Stricot-Tarboton, Rachel Baker and Tom Spencer of team Greenhorns. They finished the race seven days, 3 hours and 2 minutes and said teamwork was crucial to their success.

“Our team worked really well together and looked after each other through the all highs and the lows – it was amazing,” said Rachel Baker.

Second-placed Colts team Loose Moose AR’s Theo Wordsworth, Dulkara Martig, Tim Farrant and Neville Thorne took home $3000. Third place went to team UC Engineering’s Quinn Hornblow, Jessie Winder, Alex Manktelow and Will Jones.

Nineteen teams in the shorter formatted Pursuit category raced over 450kms with support teams following their every move.

Taking out the Pursuit trophy and $6000 was team Turiwhate from Northland including Katie Smith, Tory Watson, Iain Mciver and Rachel Drew. Drew said it was unbelievable they even finished given Iain rode 110km of the course on a single speed bike.

Second-placed Pursuit team Lincoln Reunion pushed hard for a top-three finish and lead for the first half of the race. Gerald Holden, Trevor Hurley, Kym Skerman and Dave Divers received a cheque for $3000 and were stoked with their performance.

“It was awesome despite getting lost a few times – our support crew were amazing so getting into transitions were just the best times,” said Dave Divers.

Third-placed Pursuit team Marlborough Tuatara Structures comprised of Kieran Hickman, Andrew Jones, Bec Scherp and Glenn Blackmore.

The overall Legends Trophy was awarded to Rachel Cashin, Tim Pearson, Mike Charles and Noel O’Leary of team Purao/Boehringer Ingelheim who completed the full Pure Course with a combined age of 189 years.

For more information contact:

Margo Berryman
GODZone Media Manager
Ph: +64 21 246 3342

Related posts


Premier apparel partnership


In all its glory!


A chat with Nathan